San Biagio is well known for the Archi di Pasqua, a typical and traditional festival which was created to celebrate the Easter day.
The tiny village of San Biagio Platani was founded in 1635. The name Platani was added in 1863 to distinguish the village from the other Italian towns which had the same name. The settlement, the current old town centre, was built around the Mother Church and the Palazzo Ducale.
The most important monuments of the village are the Museo degli Archi di Pasqua and the Mother Church, a wonderful building dating back to the 18th century, is dedicated to the Patron Saint of the village, San Biagio.
People live here:
Archi di Pasqua, (Easter arches)They are grandiose artistic sculptures created to celebrate the Easter day. The arches are exhibited along the Corso Umberto and they represent the triumph of Christ over death. Today this religious festivity is considered a very important cultural attraction which attracts a large crowd of citizens and strangers who are curious to discover this religious, cultural and artistic event.
How to get there:
Get on SS189 Agrigento-Palermo exit Casteltermini, then continue to San Biagio Platani
B&B Alico 3*
Country House Feudo Muxarello 3* (Aragona)
Country House Tenuta San Giovanni Casale Leto
Country House Duca di Pietratagliata (Sant’Angelo Muxaro)
Pigna D’Oro Country Hotel 4* (Santo Stefano di Quisquina)
Hotel Halykos 3* (Cammarata)
Principe di Aragona 4* (Aragona)